Resolved… To have deep roots

“As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him and established in the faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving.” (Colossians 2:6-7)

The seed sprouts, searching out the warmth of the sun’s gaze. But it is the unseen journey below the surface which secures its future above the surface. The battle that will rage above is won by the journey taken below. Without deep roots, sagging limbs, lifeless leaves, and a fruitless future await in the season of drought. In the season of the storm, broken branches and tree-toppling terror pen the plot of rootless living. The seed’s security and future flourishing depend upon deep roots plunging purposefully into the hidden heart of the soil.

It is the unseen journey below the surface that secures my future. My life flourishes when my roots grow deep into the soil of Christ’s powerful love and purpose. Like the antelope in the Serengeti searching for water’s life, I dive into the depths of Christ’s compassion and grace feasting on His promises each day. Like fingers groping for a hand-hold fighting against gravity’s pull, I wrap my soul around His character, finding strength to stand against the fierce winds that will certainly come. Coursing through the soil of my soul, my roots grow deep into Christ, finding nourishment to overcome the drought’s withering and wilting power. Plunging purposefully into the secret chambers of my heart, I am rooted and grounded in Jesus Christ, empowered by His strength, strengthened by His courage, and encouraged by His power in the face of the menacing maelstrom.

Therefore, I am resolved to have deep roots.

1 thought on “Resolved… To have deep roots”

Leave a Reply

